RSA Exams

NCWM Registered Service Agents (RSA) Exams

NCWM developed these exams for voluntary recognition by the states for the purpose of registering service agents. If a state is not listed on this page, contact the state authority for more information. A directory of state offices in on the NCWM home page.

Below are technical exams covering NIST Handbook 44, followed by state exams covering rules, regulations, or statutes specific to that state. Some participating states do not require a state exam. Those also are listed below.

Upon completion of an exam, the applicant will receive feedback on areas of success and areas for improvement. If needed, the applicant will receive one complimentary retake for each exam. After that, there would be a 30-day cooling off period before purchasing an exam again.

On successful completion of each exam, the applicant will receive an email with a certificate of completion. It is the applicant’s responsibility to contact each state to complete the registration process.

RSA Technical Exams

Contact the states where seeking registration to determine which exams are required. These are open book exams using the reference materials available here.

A list of authorized in-person proctors is available for download here. These proctors are designated by the each state’s weights and measures authority. On that page, you will also find a download for guidance when using our virtual proctor partner.

Member: $50 Non-Member: $100      Become a member

RSA: NIST Handbook 44

RSA: Retail Motor Fuel Dispensers

RSA: Small Capacity Weighing Systems

State Requiring Additional Exams 

Member: $20 Non-Member: $50       Become a member

State Requiring Exams

Minnesota Exam

Participating States Not Requiring a State Exam 

List Coming Soon